Finding out you have a food allergy can be devastating.

Finding out you have a food allergy can be devastating. I think my first thought was, "What does that mean?" You ask your doctor and he says just avoid that food. It's just a skin test. They aren't entirely accurate.

I am going to attempt to give you ideas and recipes on how to avoid corn. It can be quite the challenge.

Sorry that my blog is evolving into a little bit of everything in life.



Saturday, September 11, 2010

Kosher For Passover

I took the below information from this web site.  http://www.kidswithfoodallergies.org/resourcespre.php?id=101 It's very interesting. They say to look for KFP foods in February - March. Hope I can find them in my area.  If you have an online resource please post.

Some things to be aware of:
  • Kosher labeling in general cannot be used as a guide to determine whether a product does or does not contain milk.¹
  • Kosher for Passover does not mean "milk-free" or "safe for your child". 
  • Kosher labeling does not address cross contamination issues, therefore it's possible that traces of allergens may be in Kosher foods, just like any other manufactured foods. As always, be sure to read the ingredient statement on every item purchased and contact the manufacturers to determine its safety just like any other food you would buy.
  • Kosher for Passover foods often contain eggs and nuts. In fact, eggs and nuts abound during Passover.
  • If you do want to purchase Kosher for Passover foods, shop early and go often as the availability varies in the weeks leading up to Passover.
  • Do not confuse the "P" in Kosher for Passover for "parve" which means "neither meat nor milk". For instance, a product labeled OUP doesn't mean 'Parve', it means "for Passover consumption" and it still may be dairy. Parve foods are available year 'round but may or may not be Kosher for Passover. Be careful when reading labels; at least one Kosher certifying agency uses the symbol "P" as parve, not Passover, which can cause further confusion.
  • Many Kosher for Passover products contain potato derivatives such as potato starch and/or potato syrup which are used to replace the corn syrup or corn starch in the ingredients. Oils are generally replaced with cottonseed oil.
  • Some of these items are available year ‘round though most are not. Some ketchups, soups and sugars are sold Kosher for Passover throughout the year, for instance.
  • Kosher for Passover foods are not inexpensive. The prices may be as much as double or more the cost of comparable groceries. Be sure to factor that into your budget when stocking up.
  • Kosher for Passover foods are not health foods. They often contain sugars and hydrogenated oils. There is often little nutritional value compared to its usual non-Kosher for Passover counterpart. Make sure that you are comfortable with the nutritional labeling for any product you purchase.
What foods should I stock up on before Passover?
  • Kosher for Passover foods that KFA members have found helpful include:
  • Margarine (made without dairy, and soy and corn)
  • Chocolate chips (made without milk or soy)
  • Whipped topping (made without dairy, and soy and corn)
  • Flavored syrups, including vanilla, chocolate black cherry, strawberry and raspberry (made without corn)
  • Potato crisps
  • Coating mix for baked chicken
  • Bullion
  • Soup/dip mix
  • Candy (made without corn)
  • Bubble gum (made without corn)
  • Marshmallows (made without corn and soy; but made with egg white or fish gelatin)
  • Vanilla extract
  • Fruit leather
  • Ketchup
  • Mayonnaise
  • Olive oil cooking spray (made without soy lecithin)
  • Soda (made without corn)
  • Gelatin (made from egg or fish or non-animal-based vegan sources)
  • Pudding mix
  • Corned beef
  • Pastrami
  • Hot dogs (soy- free)
  • Chocolate syrup (made without dairy, and soy and corn)
  • Coca-Cola and other sodas (uses cane sugar and is made without corn)
  • Fruit snacks
  • Cottonseed oil
  • Cake mixes (wheat-based cake mixes that are made without dairy and corn)
  • Duck sauce
  • Chocolate spread (made without dairy, and soy and corn)
  • Artificial mustard (made without mustard seed)
  • Frozen foods, like frozen latkes (potato pancakes) (made without dairy, soy, egg and corn)
  • Ice cream (dairy and non-dairy alternatives), sherbets and popsicles.

No comments:

There was an error in this gadget

Popular Posts