Finding out you have a food allergy can be devastating.

Finding out you have a food allergy can be devastating. I think my first thought was, "What does that mean?" You ask your doctor and he says just avoid that food. It's just a skin test. They aren't entirely accurate.

I am going to attempt to give you ideas and recipes on how to avoid corn. It can be quite the challenge.

Sorry that my blog is evolving into a little bit of everything in life.



Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Vodka and Wine (Corn Free Alcohol?)

There was a recent post on the forum where someone made the statement: " I might be able to sub out whiskey for borbon"

Sorry whiskey and bourbon are out.  They are both made from corn.  Bourbon is aged whiskey from KY.  Scotch is made from corn too.  There are a few potato vodkas.  Check the bottles at the store.  If they say grain it could be wheat or corn.  They will say potato or grape.  Ciroc Vodka made from grapes.  I found this web site:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_vodkas   Vikingfjord, Chopin, Luksusowa are brands I have seen people post here.  I have had an issue with vodka.  Not sure exactly what it is.  For me I do better with Ciroc, so I am thinking it might just be potatoes.  I do fine with sweet potatoes, different species than white potatoes.  I am growing white potatoes this year so I will be able to put my finger on whether I am truly allergic to them or not. 

As for wine I get away with Gallo Sauvignon Blanc, or Merlo.  I also try organic brands of wine.  I have tried other reds.  Sorry I haven't kept track of the brands I have drunk.  I do know that most drink wine from other countries because they are less likely to add sulfites.  Sulfites are natural occurring in wine, some manufactures add additional.  Some people are sensitive to sulfites.  Of all the things I am allergic to I don't believe sulfites are one of them. 

13 comments:

Anonymous said...

single malt scotch does not contain any corn and some blended scotch does not contain any corn either. Most western European vodkas use only wheat and most eastern European and Russian vodkas are made from potatoes. There are some United States produced varieties of vodka that do not contain any corn, but the list is limited. I have a corn allergy myself. I usually drink Ketel One because it is made from wheat.

Michelle said...

Thanks, I am staying away from grains.

Anonymous said...

Any whiskeys or scotches made in Ireland or Scotland are not made with corn, but you have to be careful of blended varieties, some may contain corn alcohol (but not usually). I drink Jameson, Glenlivet, and Tullamor Dew with no problems. Ireland and Scotland both have strict rules about what can go into their alcohol. American whiskey it little better than corn mash moonshine.

Anonymous said...

Hey! Just came across this and wanted to say that I have a corn allergy too and for a long time I thought top shelf vodka's were ok... turns out they're usually made from wheat, corn and potatoes (I'm also gluten intolerant). If you want to stick with vodka you can find 100% pure potato vodkas - I bought mine imported from Poland. Hope that helps!

Anonymous said...

portland potato vodka

http://www.eastsidedistilling.com/our-spirits/portland-potato-vodka/

Karen Wagener said...

Thanks a lot guys. I also suffer from a corn allergy and having a hard time finding an alcohol without corn and i drink vodka. I will check kettle one out.

Michelle Smith said...

Thanks for you post. Makes me feel good that I can help someone!

Anonymous said...

In reply to Anonymous above, I shop at one of those huge liquor stores, and they have very few potato vodkas. Surprisingly, almost all the Russian, Polish and otherwise Eastern European vodkas that I see there are made from grain. there are a few lists on the internet, and there are not that many potato vodkas. Not from Russia, not from Poland. Not from anywhere. Most of the wheat-free ones from the USA use corn...

I am allergic to both wheat and corn, so I buy Lukosawa -- which I use to make my vanilla extract with, by the way. For me, it is fine, and not expensive.

Anonymous said...

Any "kosher for passover" wine or alcohol won't contain any corn. Brands of wine -- bartenura, terrenial, sara bee, kedem, rashi, ben ami, baron herzog... I can go on and on. Look for a kosher symbol with a 'P' next to it. Such as OU p ('U' inside an 'O' and a little 'p' next to it).

Anything that is kosher for passover is by definition corn free and most kosher wine companies have their product kosher for passover year round.

For hard alcohol, there are guides as to what is permissible for passover and therefore corn-free. I don't have a link, but search 'kosher for passover liquor" and a bunch of sites will pop up. They are updated yearly so choose the most recent. Passover occurs around March or April each year.

No beer is kosher for passover.

To receive a kosher for passover certification, guidelines are extremely strict. HOWEVER, that may not include cross-contamination and so on. The item just may not contain any corn or corn derivative, or possibly be contaminated with corn at all.

Anonymous said...

Dose anyone know if the Circo flavored vodka contains corn?

konobaby said...

Ciroc is made from grapes.

Anonymous said...

Do you happen to know the single malt that is corn free? I'm a Jack Daniels girl at heart and I'm just bumming without my Jack. I've been drinking the Luke brand, darn autocorrect won't let me spell it. It's red labeled Russian potato vodka. Does that have corn in it?

Anonymous said...

i believe u mean luksosowa... its a polish vodka and no its corn free, pure potato, have tried it also, great stuff!

Share it

Popular Posts